B.o.B – ‘No Genre’ Mixtape (FREE DOWNLOAD)

7 Dec

CLICK ABOVE FOR DOWNLOAD: Click 'Free Download' on the screen that appears, and then click on the giant 'File Download' black tab on the next screen.

In the last 24 hours international chart-topper B.o.B. has released a free mixtape for his fans, which you can download by clicking the mixtape cover above.

The mixtape, entitled ‘No Genre’, is a return to B.o.B.’s deeper rap roots, and is largely a far cry from the debut album ‘The Adventures of Bobby Ray’ that was a smash hit worldwide with its number 1 singles ‘Nothin’ On You’ and ‘Airplanes’. Although the material may come as a surprise to those who have only experienced B.o.B. in the last 12 months, the mixtape does provide an insight into the necessary changes and moves that some rap artists are required to take in order to receive adequate label backing and commercial promotion. For instance, B.o.B. does not have any assistance on the chorus hooks, whereas ‘The Adventures of Bobby Ray’ had an assortment of artists – from Weezer’s River Cuomo and Paramore’s Hayley Williams, to R&B stars Janelle Monae and Bruno Mars – in charge of vocal proceedings on the chorus (albeit to the benefit of the material commercially). Despite no guest singers on ‘No Genre’, B.o.B. is however kept company by fellow rappers, in the form of Grand Hustle Records affiliates T.I. and Playboy Tre, as well as Texan legend Bun B and Kanye West’s newest protege CyHi da Prynce, amongst others.

For those who were familiar with B.o.B. before ‘The Adventures of Bobby Ray’, this newest release is a welcome return to B.o.B. playing to his strengths. For those of you who will only know B.o.B. from his album debut, the mixtape is unlikely to appeal as much, with very few if any of the tracks likely to be appear on the radio stations he would otherwise be found. A far more comfortable insight to B.o.B. as an artist for newcomers would be the 2009 mixtape ‘B.o.B. vs Bobby Ray’ that created the appeal of major labels and the anticipation of hip-hop fans. The reason for this is that the mixtape is split into 2 parts: one for B.o.B. as he is in ‘No Genre’, a gritty rapper from the American South; and the second part as B.o.B. in his Bobby Ray persona, who sings and plays most of the instruments in his productions. Bobby Ray will definitely resonate with fans new to B.o.B., with the song ‘Satellite’ being put on the ‘Adventures…’ album, which was more a reflection of Bobby Ray than it is particularly with B.o.B.

Whilst the mixtape release shows B.o.B. is indeed working in the studio, there is no official word of his 2nd album. It will be fascinating to see how he approaches it, though: Does he stick with the tried and tested formula of Bobby Ray the chart-topper, feeding the rap fans that raised his profile with ‘No Genre’-esque mixtapes; or does he now have enough weight on his record label due to his commercial success that he can now force some more straight, uncompromising rap onto his next work?

Download the mixtape by clicking the top image. See for yourself, and let us know what you think!


1. Beast Mode
2. So So
3. How U Do That
4. Feet Don’t Fail Me Now (featuring T.I. and Spodee)
5. Higher (featuring Playboy Tre, CyHi da Prynce and Bun B) [Produced by Polow Da Don, behind chart hits from the likes of Nelly, Fergie, and Keri Hilson]
6. Shoot Up The Station
7. Not Lost (featuring T.I.) [Produced by J.R. Rotem, producer responsible for several number1 singles]
8. Cold As Ice
9. The Watchers
10. Batman Flow (featuring Donnis) [Produced by Dr.Luke, rumoured to be working on Dr.Dre’s ‘Detox’]
11. American Dreamin
12. Grand Hustle Kings (featuring Young Dro and T.I.)
13.  Dr Aden
14. Attraction
15. Game Time

Track 16 is a bonus addition to the mixtape in the form of The All City Chess Club’s remix to Lupe Fiasco’s ‘I’m Beaming’.
The remix comprises of rappers Asher Roth, Charles Hamilton, Cool Kids, Blu, Diggy, Dosage and of course B.o.B.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: